New East Digital Archive

Visa-free travel to EU begins today for Georgians

Visa-free travel to EU begins today for Georgians

28 March 2017

As of today, Georgian citizens can enjoy visa-free travel to the Schengen Area.

The visa waiver applies to 22 EU member states (all members except Ireland, the United Kingdom, Croatia, Cyprus, Romania and Bulgaria), in addition to non-member states Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, and allows Georgian citizens to remain in the Schengen Area for up to 90 days.

“Our goal is for Georgia to become a fully-fledged member of the EU,” Georgian Foreign Minister Mikheil Janelidze said in a statement yesterday, noting that the impending visa-free regime would promote the development of both tourism and business relations.

In celebration of the launch of visa-free travel, Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili has travelled to Athens today, together with ministers, MPs and a group of young students.